Skip to main content

Summer Sailstice: An Award-Winning Celebration of Sailing

December 17, 2023 by jarndt
Corinthian Yacht Club Kevin Roesler and PICYA Yachtsman of the Year winner John Arndt.

The Pacific Interclub Yachting Association, an association of over 100 Northern California Yacht Clubs, recently awarded Summer Sailstice Founder John Arndt with their 'Yachtsman of the Year' trophy for his efforts to celebrate and grow sailing with Summer Sailstice.  John wrote up more of the story in a recent Latitude 38 newsletter: 

"Who doesn’t appreciate recognition with a pat on the back or a beautiful silver trophy? As we wrote in the December issue, Latitude 38 publisher John Arndt got more than a pat on the back when Pacific Interclub Yachting Association (PICYA) board member Jim Haussener shared that John was being awarded the 2023 PICYA Yachtsman of the Year trophy for his efforts to promote sailing.

PICYA Commodore Larry Mayne, John Arndt and RBOC Vice President Bill Gargan presenting the Yachts,an of the Year trophy. 

"PICYA represents 100+ Northern California yacht clubs, and describes the award in their Yachting Yearbook: “… the Douglas Boswell Perpetual Yachtsman trophy recognizes a person for outstanding, distinguished service to yachting.”

"What the heck? Me? I wondered why and was fortunate to find out during the PICYA awards banquet at Oakland Yacht Club in Alameda.

Bill Gargan, VP for RBOC (Recreational Boaters of California), explained that the honor was for efforts to promote sailing, with the annual, global Summer Sailstice. Of course, we also do this with Latitude 38 and remind you that with the approach of the winter solstice on December 21, the days will start getting longer as we begin the six-month countdown to the 24th annual Summer Sailstice, to be held the weekend of June 22.


Bill Gargan, Molly O'Bryan and John Arndt with Molly holding the Admiral Chester W. Nimitz Perpetual Trophy for her hard work promoting youth sailing at the Peninsula Youth Sailing Foundation.

When picking up the beautiful trophy, now sitting at the Corinthian Yacht Club, it was a shock to see my name added alongside some well-recognized Bay Area sailors including Larry Ellison, Tom Blackaller, Pam Healy, Linda Newland, Dick Loomis, Robert F. Keefe and many others awarded since 1977. How cool is that?

Read more here

There were many more awards given including to Molly O'Bryan who won the Admiral Chester W. Nimitz Perpetual Trophy for the exceptional work done in promoting youth sailing. She's the executive director of Peninsula Youth Sailing in Redwood City, California. The program has grown dramatically over the last 20 years and served over 300 students in their 2023 programs. 

However you choose to grow sailing, we hope you put your plans and programs on the 2024 Summer Sailstice map!

Article Type